Stuart Ayre Memorial Trophy

Jul 12, 2016
Posted by: matt
Category: Results
  • Mark Robertson wins inaugural Stuart Ayre Memorial Road Race Trophy
  • Michael Sloanes finishes 8th

The inaugural Sunderland Clarion CC Stuart Ayre Memorial Trophy was won by Mark Robertson (Army Cycling Racing Team) in blustery conditions on the roads of Northumberland on Sunday. The race saw 80 riders from the region and further afield race for the trophy in honour of the clubs former member and coach.  

Robertson’s win came from a breakaway that formed on the closing laps, and saw him finish ahead of Chris Sleath (Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare) and Tom Wilcock (GS Metro). The race saw riders tackle a selective course on a circuit around Scots Gap, Rothley Craggs and Cambo, completing the circuit 8 times. Almost immediately there were attacks, with riders battling to build an advantage, however it took until the fourth lap for Wilcock to break free. He was soon joined by Robertson and Sleath, with Fawcett bridging across after attacking the bunch at the foot of Rothley Craggs. The group worked well together, however a cohesive bunch behind was working well to bring them back, meaning they were never really too far out of sight. With just over two laps remaining the race was temporarily stopped due to a non-related road traffic accident on the course. Due to the stoppage it was decided that the race would restart with only one lap to be raced, with the break sent off with their advantage intact. The final lap saw a strong attempt by the bunch to pull back the escapees but it was all to no avail, and Robertson had enough in his legs to out-sprint the others to take home the trophy. 

The first Clarion rider home was Michael Sloanes who finished 8th, after some strong work to lead him out by Neil Wallbank. Sloanes led home a Clarion team that also featured Kris Adlington, Mark Tully, Paul Cottrell and Matt France. 

The event saw a great turn out from club members volunteering on the course and at HQ, including a great buffet. We'd like to thank all members especially Lewis for their efforts. 


1 - Mark Robertson (Army Cycling Racing Team)

2 - Chris Sleath (Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare)

3 - Tim Wilcock (GS Metro)

4 - Tony Fawcett (Vieri Velo RT)

5 - Bob Hewitt (Yh Training Scarborough RC)

6 - Chris Mather (M Steel)

7 - Walter Hamilton (Veloclub Edinburgh)

8 - Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion CC)

9 - Christian Fewtrell (Fietsen Tempo)

10 - Ian Taylor (

11 - Joseph Davison (Planet X - Northside Cycling)

12 - Ralf Hodgson (Champion System VCUK Racing Team)

13 - Scott Wardlaw (Veloclub Edinburgh)

14 - Graeme Cross (TheBicycleWorks)

15 - Fergus Brown 

16 - Paul Watson (Cycle Studio)

17 - Ryan Abbs (

18 - Daniel Curran (Spokes Racing Team)

19 - Mark Tully (Sunderland Clarion CC)

20 - Joshua Ferguson (Kuota - Spinergy - GSG)


 © Copyright Sunderland Clarion Cycling Club 2013